Skip To Main Content

IVCCD Board approves tax levy continuations

IOWA FALLS – The Iowa Valley Community College District (IVCCD) Board of Directors approved resolutions authorizing the 10-year continuation of both the IVCCD Plant Fund Tax Levy and the IVCCD Equipment Levy when it met in regular session this month at Ellsworth Community College in Iowa Falls. The 20 ¼-cent Plant Fund Levy, which was set to expire June 30, 2025, will now extend through June 30, 2035. The 6-cent Equipment Levy, which would have expired June 30, 2018, will now extend through June 30, 2028.

IVCCD Vice Chancellor of Finance Kathy Pink explained to the Board that new legislation approved last year allows Iowa’s community college boards to authorize continuations of these existing levies for an additional 10 years.

“The new legislation allows us to save quite a bit of money by not putting these two levies on the ballot, and it also helps us with future planning and budgeting,” said Pink. Dr. Chris Duree, IVCCD Chancellor, noted that these two levies have been approved by the voters for two consecutive 10-year periods. Eight other community colleges in Iowa have already extended their levies in a similar manner.

The IVCCD Board also approved voluntary early retirement applications for six longtime employees: Dave Aust, MCC Computer Networking Faculty; Pat Brown, MCC Education Faculty; Sharlene Denholm, ECC Residence Life Office Associate; Anne Michael, IVCE Coordinator of Tama County Continuing Education; Trudi Scott, IVCCD Printing Services Supervisor; and Brenda Woodward, MCC Computers/Business Faculty. Board Chairperson Yvonne Mallory said, “We thank these employees for their many years of service. They’re all wonderful people and we wish them well.”

In other matters, the Board: approved the ECC and MCC Spring 2016 graduation applicant lists; approved the payment of 2016-17 membership dues for the Iowa Association of Community College Trustees ($34,523.61); approved payment of 2016-17 membership dues for the American Association of Community College Trustees ($3,146); and received a donation of $17,150 from Steve Howard. The donation was made during an auction at ECC’s third annual Lead Off Dinner, a fundraiser for the Panther baseball program. Dr. Duree noted that the college is very thankful for Howard’s generosity.

The Board held a closed session to discuss collective bargaining strategy, but took no action upon returning to open session.

ECC Agriculture faculty members Kevin Butt and Eric Weuve and three of their students (Gared Stockwell, Heather Schnitker and Aaron Bruihler) told the Board about their involvement at the state and national Post-Secondary Agriculture Student (PAS) conferences. The ECC team took home several state and national awards this year.

The next regular meeting of the IVCCD Board of Directors will be Wednesday, May 11, at 4 pm in Marshalltown. The Board has scheduled a special meeting and a retreat for 3 p.m. and 4 p.m. respectively on Wednesday, April 20.

Related Articles