COVID-19 Update

Check for additional updates regarding IVCCD’s responses to COVID-19.

Our campuses are open to select students and employees only. Online classes are going smoothly; lab classes and events remain canceled until mid-April. Students can access services and staff through email. Our switchboards are accepting calls, but most staff are not on campus at this time.

Skip To Main Content

IVCCD Board recognized for service

“School Boards Matter: Making a Difference for Iowa Students” is the theme of Iowa’s School Board Recognition Month, being celebrated statewide during the month of May.

Serving on the Iowa Valley Community College District (IVCCD) Board of Directors with a combined 76 years of experience are Vice Chair Larry Johnson of Iowa Falls (District 1, 29 years of service); Deborah Crosser of Eldora (District 2, 4 years of service); Delbert Kellogg of Marshalltown (District 3, 12 years of service); Deborah Jones of Clemons (District 4, 7 years of service); Chris Brodin of Marshalltown (District 5, first year of service); Chair Yvonne Mallory of Toledo (District 6, 15 years of service); and Paul Pohlson of Grinnell (District 7, 9 years of service). IVCCD operates Marshalltown Community College, Ellsworth Community College in Iowa Falls, Iowa Valley Continuing Education, and Iowa Valley Grinnell (a satellite campus of MCC), as well as the Orpheum Theater Center in Marshalltown.

According to the Iowa Association of School Boards (IASB), there are 124 elected Iowa community college board members serving Iowa’s 15 community college districts. Community college board members are elected to four-year terms of office and provide hundreds of voluntary hours of service each year.

“Having worked directly with our IVCCD Board of Directors for the last six years, I am exceptionally grateful for their support given to our administrative team and to our institution as a whole,” says Dr. Chris Duree, IVCCD Chancellor. “Our Board members not only work well together, they work well with the College staff and faculty. Their commitment to our continuous quality improvement initiatives is very much appreciated by all of us. We’re pleased to be able to recognize them during Iowa’s School Board Recognition Month.”

Related Articles