Skip To Main Content

IVCCD Board handles personnel matters

The Iowa Valley Community College District (IVCCD) Board of Directors approved voluntary early retirement applications for 12 employees, bringing the total number of retirees to 19 for this year, when it met this month in Marshalltown.

The Board approved voluntary early retirement applications for Shirley Clement, Iowa Valley Continuing Education (IVCE) Office Associate; Richard (Dick) Connell, Ellsworth Community College (ECC) Computers/Business Faculty; Mary Emke, IVCE Payroll Office Associate; Larry Janssen, ECC Business Faculty; Katie Johnson, Iowa Valley Grinnell (IVG) Student Success Specialist; Bernal Koehrsen, ECC Social Science Faculty; Elaine Peterson, Marshalltown Community College (MCC) Dental Assisting Coordinator/Faculty; Deb Sabin, IVCE Hardin County Coordinator; Anne Sherve-Ose, ECC Music Faculty; Nancy Slife, ECC Biology Faculty; Beth Weuve, IVCE Director of Health Education, and Russ Yarrow, MCC Construction Technology Faculty. Board Chairperson Yvonne Mallory said, “These people represent a great deal of service to Iowa Valley, for which we’re very grateful. We wish them well.”

Also related to personnel, the Board approved the termination of employment and teachers’ continuing contracts for three faculty members whose positions were eliminated as part of the District’s recent budget-related workforce reductions. The three terminations included Richard Grife, MCC Physical Education Faculty; Wijitha Nilaweera, ECC Biotechnology Faculty; and Meghan Schumacker, MCC Music Faculty.

Eight new student fees related to costs for specific programs were approved by the Board, as well as increases to three existing fees. The new fees are specific to the MCC Electro-Mechanical Systems Technology, Machine Tool Technology, Welding and Computer Network Management programs, the ECC Equine and Athletics programs, and the IVG Gunsmith Technology program, as well as a new admissions fee for international students. The increased fees pertain to the Gunsmith and Nursing programs. It was noted that all new and increased fees are based on increased course or service costs.

Specific to Ellsworth Community College, the Board approved a five-year agreement with Great Western Dining Services to provide food service at ECC beginning July 1. ECC Provost Dr. Martin Reimer said the College received four proposals and narrowed to two finalists. The selection was made based on reports by “secret shoppers” who evaluated food services at other colleges served by the finalists, as well as additional provisions to the Great Western contract.

In other matters, the Board: voted to name the renovated MCC student union space the “William ‘Bill’ Faust Student Union” in recognition of Faust’s contribution to the education of MCC students through a generous donation; approved an agreement with the University of Northern Iowa offering graduate credit to faculty members at a reduced tuition rate; received a donation of $1,000 from the Iowa Falls Church Women United for the Iowa Falls High School Equivalency Diploma and English as a Second Language programs; approved an agreement between MCC and Mid-Iowa Community Action for providing literacy-related work to MCC students eligible for the Federal Work-Study program; and approved an amendment/modification to the Workforce Investment Opportunity Act (WIOA) Region 6 Master Agreement providing an additional $20,000 for youth programming and $2,000 for administrative expenses.

The Board held a closed session to discuss collective bargaining strategy and a closed session to conduct Dr. Duree’s annual performance evaluation, but took no action upon returning to open session.

The next regular meeting of the IVCCD Board of Directors will be Wednesday, June 8, at 4 pm in Grinnell.

Related Articles