COVID-19 Update

Check for additional updates regarding IVCCD’s responses to COVID-19.

Our campuses are open to select students and employees only. Online classes are going smoothly; lab classes and events remain canceled until mid-April. Students can access services and staff through email. Our switchboards are accepting calls, but most staff are not on campus at this time.

Skip To Main Content

IVCCD Board to be recognized May 10

IVCCD Board of Directors Spring 2017

Pictured in the IVCCD Administration Building are Iowa Valley Board Directors Paul Pohlson, Deborah Jones, Larry Johnson, Yvonne Mallory, Delbert Kellogg, Deborah Crosser and Chris Brodin. The IVCCD Board will be honored with a reception on Wednesday, May 10, from 3 to 3:30 pm in the Administration Building at 3702 S. Center St., Marshalltown. The public is invited to attend.

May is School Board Recognition Month and an opportunity for communities to honor Iowa’s more than 2,000 locally elected school board members for their dedication to public education. Iowa Valley Community College District (IVCCD) will honor its seven Board members with a reception from 3 to 3:30 pm prior to the monthly IVCCD Board meeting on Wednesday, May 10.

Serving on the Iowa Valley Community College District (IVCCD) Board of Directors with a combined 83 years of experience are Vice Chair Larry Johnson of Iowa Falls (District 1, 30 years of service); Deborah Crosser of Eldora (District 2, 5 years of service); Delbert Kellogg of Marshalltown (District 3, 13 years of service); Deborah Jones of Clemons (District 4, 8 years of service); Chris Brodin of Marshalltown (District 5, 2 years of service); Chair Yvonne Mallory of Toledo (District 6, 16 years of service); and Paul Pohlson of Grinnell (District 7, 10 years of service). IVCCD operates Marshalltown Community College, Ellsworth Community College in Iowa Falls, Iowa Valley Continuing Education, and Iowa Valley Grinnell (a satellite campus of MCC), as well as the Orpheum Theater Center in Marshalltown.

According to the Iowa Association of School Boards (IASB), there are 124 elected Iowa community college board members serving Iowa’s 15 community college districts. Community college board members are elected to four-year terms of office and provide hundreds of voluntary hours of service each year.

“Having worked directly with our IVCCD Board of Directors for the last seven years, I continue to be exceptionally grateful for their support of our administrative team and our institution as a whole,” says Dr. Chris Duree, IVCCD Chancellor. “Our Board members not only work well together, they work well with the College staff and faculty. Their commitment to our mission is very much appreciated by all of us. We’re pleased to be able to recognize them during Iowa’s School Board Recognition Month.”

The May 10 Board meeting and reception will be held in the IVCCD District Administration building on the southwest corner of the Marshalltown campus at 3702 S. Center Street. The public is invited to attend.

Related Articles