Skip To Main Content

Join IVCCD in Celebrating Iowa School Boards

May is School Board Recognition Month, sponsored by the Iowa Association of School Boards to celebrate the contributions of board members to Iowa public education. This year’s theme is “School Boards: Leading Through Uncharted Waters.” The Iowa Valley Community College District is celebrating the work of its Board of Directors, who have maintained their commitment to students, staff, and communities while facing challenges and making decisions they never could have anticipated when they were elected.

“The Board of Directors serves as unpaid navigators who help students set sail by devoting their time to monthly meetings, reviewing board materials, communicating with citizens, exploring learning opportunities, and attending college functions and activities. Most importantly, our Board has made tough choices that impact the health and safety of students, staff, and the college community, while continuing to prioritize student achievement and educational equity,” said Dr. Kristie Fisher, Chancellor of Iowa Valley Community College District.

The Iowa Valley Community College District Board of Directors is charged with charting the course for our district. They oversee the budget, develop policies, set the atmosphere, and make decisions that impact the entire community.

The Iowa Valley Community College District is shining a spotlight on our Board of Directors at the regular monthly meeting on May 12 at 4:00. Community members are invited to attend via Zoom. We will also highlight each of them on our District social media accounts throughout the month of May.

The board members serving the IVCCD and their years of service are: Larry Johnson, President (34 years); Paul Pohlson, Vice President (14 years); Clark Lawler (1 year); Delbert Kellogg (17 years); Deborah Jones (13 years); Chris Brodin (5 years); and Joanna Hofer (3 years).

Related Articles