the District

Home » About the District

About the District

Iowa Valley Community College District (IVCCD) was organized in 1966 as one of 15 community college districts in Iowa. IVCCD is unique among Iowa’s community college districts because it operates two separate community colleges under the umbrella of one district. There is no Iowa Valley Community College … rather, the District operates Ellsworth Community College in Iowa Falls (founded in 1890), Marshalltown Community College (founded in 1927), and Iowa Valley Business and Community Solutions as well as a satellite center (Iowa Valley Grinnell, established in 1993).

ECC and MCC offer one-year and two-year career-technical programs as well as a transferrable Associate of Arts (AA) degree. Iowa Valley Business and Community Solutions offers training for business and industry as well as thousands of adult education programs and services throughout the Central Iowa service area. Iowa Valley Grinnell offers both college credit and adult education programs and services in Poweshiek County.

District Office

The District (Administration) Office is located at 3702 S. Center Street in Marshalltown; it’s the standalone building on the southwest corner of the Iowa Valley/Marshalltown campus. That building houses the Chancellor’s office, Human Resources, Business Services, and Information Technology (IT). Other District Office functions and employees (located on the main Iowa Valley/MCC campus) include Governmental Affairs, Institutional Research, and Marketing.

Individual employees in these offices/departments can be contacted by searching our online Staff Directory.